Words

I lost my blogging virginity today. Yay me!!!

I had my words misconstrued, misrepresented, misunderstood. Pretty much all the mis’s anyone could have. Bound to happen, I suppose. Startling that it did. And that’s why I put off writing for so long.

I have been so reluctant to write publicly because of all the fears I’ve had. Not being good enough, not having anything to say and yes, being misunderstood. All scary shit. No one wants to put themselves out there to get smacked down or made fun of, or told you are wrong. But its going to happen. People see what they want, read into things. All of it.

That’s the beauty of us. We have the chance to see, and interpret. All my artist and musician friends, and now my writer friends (you know who you are), you are the bravest people I know. I’m honoured to have you in my life. Silly,brave fools.

I won’t stop writing. I can’t. It’s not even an option. It has been such a part of me for so long, it’s like a twin. Real me, writer me. I will evolve (God, I hope!), and hopefully get better, and deserving of your reading, and my fellows fine company.

Wish me well, or don’t. Your choice. But know that I celebrate all of you, just for doing it. 

My favorite quote:

We are all of us in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars. Oscar Wilde

 

 

8 thoughts on “Words

  1. Coming from the perspective of a long time blogger, there will always be someone who will misunderstand. Please don’t let the words of a few dampen your enthusiasm.

  2. I loves me some Oscar Wilde. That is one of my favourite quotes by him as well.

    You had your words misconstrued? I don’t know if that’s happened to me yet…oh, probably in the comments section. That’s where all the action is. Great post!

    • As yet, I don’t get many comments. They read and are verrryyyy quiet! They may be afraid of me? And, yeah, Oscar is king!

  3. Once I wrote a post that talked about how, what it feels like every day of my life is that I’m wearing a sweater that I believe has a kitten embroidered on it. A little fluffy, happy kitten. I go through my day bouncing through my life with my kitten sweater not understanding why I can’t seem to get along with ANYfuckingbody. That’s because to me it looks like a kitten, but to the rest of the world it says “go fuck yourself” (or fuck you, I can’t remember exactly what I said in the post)

    I pretty much feel like that every day. I write or speak, and people answer a different sentence/paragraph. As if I said something COMPLETELY FUCKING DIFFERENT. Sometimes I consider going the other direction entirely: maybe set out to be a total ass from jump street with no ambiguity and see where that gets me.

    • Hah ha! I love this! I don’t believe I will ever look at kittens in the same way! You should really make this into a card! I’d buy it! I think you found the gap in Hallmarks line!

Go on. Talk to Mama Duck.

